House Staff

Robert Wringham is a writer and performer and is the editor-in-chief of New Escapologist. He writes books and has his own humorous blog here.

Tim Eyre is New Escapologist‘s chief typographer, largely responsible for the unique look of our publications. Tim lives in London, is the developer of a unique Japanese Kanji font and occasionally discusses his typographic techniques in academic publications and conferences. Tim is an epic traveler, often writing about travel in New Escapologist and in his self-published travelogues.

Reggie Chamberlain-King is a Belfast-based writer, broadcaster and Musiphilosoph. He is creative director of the Wireless Mystery Theatre and works frequently with Martin White’s Mystery Fax Machine Orchestra.

Samara Leibner is an artist from Montreal and is New Escapologist‘s arts editor. She runs a web comic called Atronaut and is responsible for the unconventional colouring book, Shanti’s Book of Panties. She helps to create gigantic black and white artworks with the Montreal art cooperative, EN MASSE.

Neil Scott is a Glasgow-based designer and New Escapologist’s Eudaemonology editor. He has designed websites for the Idler, New Escapologist, Sarah Nixey, Luke Haines and others. As a writer, he has worked for Time Out travel guides and initiated the acclaimed magazine, the Mind’s Construction Quarterly

Drew Gagne is an escaped man and our chief leisure officer, sometimes blogging at the site as Lentus Ambulando.


Artist Hugo Arias; blogger Leo Babauta; actor Adam Bargroff; travelling family guy Stephen Barry; brewer Gary Bearchell; musician LD Beghtol; artist Landis Blair; entertainer Mark Biddiss; scholar Tim Blanchard; artist Paula Billups; cartoonist Benjamin Birdie; artist Jason Botkin; philosopher Alain de Botton; illustrator Geraldine Boyle; skateboarder Michael Brooke; thinker David Cain; NLP coach Matt Caulfield; connoisseur Joe Champniss; film-maker Aislinn Clarke; sociologist Stan Cohen; prose writer Andrew Croskery; pseudonymn Gertrude Cubicle; anxiety combatant Brian Dean; vagabonder Shikha Dhawan; business advisor Meg Dougherty; mortician Caitlin Doughty; illustrator Philip Dearest; dandy diarist Dickon Edwards; author Joshua Glenn; academic and artist Laura Gonzalez; scholar of nonsense Marco Graziosi; tax resister David Gross; artist Lawrence Gullo; artist Ellie Harrison; tentaclist Rebecca Mary Hartz; philosophy professor Joseph Heath; comedian Richard Herring; Idler founder Tom Hodgkinson; bohemian rhapsodist Oli Hudson; eventual deliverer Sipaway Jackson; parentoid Bryn Jenkins; photographer and film-maker Alexander Jorgensen; friendly anarchist Fabian Kruse; earlier retiree Jacob Lund Fisker; poet Graham Fulton; journalist Judith Levine; comedian Ian MacPherson; editor Shanti Maharaj; artist Billy Mavreas; Alaskan Jack McClure; pigeon presser Holly Meier; journalist Tom Mellors; historian Chris Miller; political scientist David Miller; tight lark Paul Jon Milne; artist Nick Moore; blogger Mr. Money Mustache; author Ewan Morrison; academic Bernice Murphy; student of economics Sam Nair; witty boy Jonathan O’Brien; journalist Tania O’Donnell; artist Kareen Pierre; DJ Steven Rainey; postie Jon Ransom; designer Justin Reynolds; author Luke Rhinehart; cartoonist Joel Ryan; writer Will Self; writer Nicolette Stewart; cartoonist Kelly Tindall; comedian Dave Thompson; pseudonymn Mark Wentworth; artist Tristan Tolhurst; pseudonym The Walking Dude; builder Rob West; librarian Rob Westwood; dandy Lord Whimsy; author Allan Wilson; blogger Jeremy Williams; writer Kaiti Vartholomaios; and poet Murray Lachlan Young.